Okay Mommy with a Side of a Geek

I want to thank you for reading this. I hope I was able to touch you in someway. Please feel free to leave me a comment!!

The Chili Miracle

on February 22, 2016

Everyone loves a good chili, right? I am here to tell you that no, everyone does not enjoy chili. I have never really liked chili nor am I a fan of hot or spicy foods. With that being said chili was suggested as dinner last night.

Being that I have never really enjoyed chili I really have no idea how to cook it. I know that it is better when cooked all day long and that most people eat it spicy but that is about the extent of my chili knowledge. With that being said, I went to Pintrest.  You can click HERE to follow my page!) I found a few different recipes and asked my amazing boyfriend to pick one and he chose to go with the one that I also thought maybe looked okay.

I got everything all ready yesterday and about 10:30 AM I was starting to cook the ground beef and start adding everything to the crock pot. There are a few things I would like you to know about making chili that I was not aware of; you do NOT add any water and you are supposed to drain AND rinse the beans before you add them to the crock pot.I just want to say that I am so glad that i started early enough for it cook all the way and thicken up the water.

I got a ton of help and suggestions from a group of women on Facebook and I really do not think it would have turned out at all if not for all of their help. So I want to post a shout out to all my Mamma Geeks out there! I Love you all!!!!

In the end it turned out really great and we all, yes even me, really enjoyed it. I did take out about 2 1/2 cups of liquid at about 3:00 PM and added some tomato paste to help thicken it up some but it was yummy and that is ultimately all that matters! I will post the recipe that I ended up using with my changes but to see the original recipe I used click HERE.


 

Copycat Wendy’s Chili

Feeds 2 adults and 4 children

12717634_10153436775907616_71684793996937637_n

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs ground beef– I used about 1 1/2 lbs of 80/20 that I cooked prior to adding it to the crock pot
  • 15oz pinto beans– I used 1 can
  • 16oz kidney beans– I used 1 can
  • 28oz diced tomato– I used 2 cans of regular diced and then 1 can of diced with chili things in it. I did not drain any of these.
  • 1/4cup yellow pepper– I just cut up an entire smallish yellow pepper
  • 1/4cup celery– I cut up about 4 stalks
  • 2 small red onion– I am not a huge fan so I cut up half a large yellow one
  • 2tsp garlic powder–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 1/2tsp oregano–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 1tsp pepper–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 3tbsp chili powder (I did not use this I used red cyanne)–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 1tsb salt–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 1tsb sugar–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 1tsb pepper–I just sort of added some in by looks.
  • 2cups water

Now, I did add the 2 cups of water but I do not really think that it was necessary so I do not suggest adding it. I will say that after cooking in the crock pot for about 6-7 hours everything was soft, cooked and delicious. I decided to made some cornbread using the Jiffy box mix I got from Kroger to go with it and I heard that sour cream and shredded cheese went pretty well with chili so that is how I made mine. I feel confidant saying  that I will more then likely make this again.

 

Leave a Reply

