Okay Mommy with a Side of a Geek

I want to thank you for reading this. I hope I was able to touch you in someway. Please feel free to leave me a comment!!

The Gym

on March 2, 2016

So today I went and joined a gym. Apparently, Planet Fitness is made for poor people like me as it is only $19.99 a month for the gym, unlimited tanning and unlimited massage chairs. Now, I am not really the kind of person to tan but did someone say unlimited massage chairs because I think that alone is worth the money! I would like to to tell you about my experience today preparing and, eventually, going to work out.

  1. Going to the gym to get the membership.
    1. Now this was pretty simple. I walked in, signed some consent form, handed over my money and took a tour.
  2. Go to Wal-Mart to get appropriate clothes.
    1. This part was actually slightly complicated. I have no idea what people work out in and when I went to the work out clothes they were all so expensive!
    2. After looking around I was able to find a while tank top (the gym did give me a free shirt so I figure I can use that  one too) and two pairs of mid calf leggings.
    3. I also went ahead and got a backpack that was on sale to put everything in and a super cute water bottle so I can stay hydrated in style.
  3. Take the children to my dad so I can I can be child free so I can work out.
    1. I want to point out that if working out gets my dad to keep my kids for a few hours this is reason enough for me to go.
  4. Go to the gym and work out.
    1. Find the girls dressing room (they are the yellow ones…. and can I just say that I love how they have the men’s room in purple and the women’s in yellow… way to be gender neutral!)
    2. Find an available locker… this was pretty simple. My issues with the locker was that I really didn’t think when I got my lock and I got the kind with a key and I couldn’t figure out where to put the key while I was working out. I finally did find a tiny key ring that I was able to put the key on and attach to my tank top strap.
    3. Change my clothes. This was also easy as they provide private changing rooms to change in so I wasn’t getting dresses with people that aren’t all flabby.
    4. Put everything away and actually head into the gym.
    5. Fill up water bottle and work out.

After everything was said and done I think I did a really good job considering I have terrible social anxiety and I didn’t go with anyone and I didn’t see anyone that I knew so I was totally solo. I have never been to a gym before so I really didn’t know what I was supposed to do or what to expect or how to use all the different machines but I figured some stuff out and I cannot wait to go back.

12821417_10153455516912616_6013193898467523248_n

Workout Routine

Spend a total of 2 hours at the gym

Worked out a total of 90 minuets (including the relaxing massage)

  • 20 minuets in the stretching room using crazy machines that stretched me out.
  • 25 minuets walking on the treadmill using the heart rate setting and then cool down.
  • 5 minuets on some arm machine
  • 5 minuets on some leg thing
  • 20 minuets in the ’12 minuets abs’ room (yeah go ahead and laugh it up)
  • 15 minuets using this water massage bed thing

 


Leave a comment